Funeral Services Training Package

The SIF Funeral Services Training Package is the national framework for skills development for the funeral services industry. 

It includes nationally recognised units of competency and qualifications to train and assess individuals in a range of skills and occupations.

More infomation on careers in funeral services.

Funeral Services Updates

To ensure that the SIF Funeral Services Training Package incorporates the most current skills, the imported units from recently endorsed training packages have been updated. 

Imported units updated are from the:

  • BSB Business Services Training Package
  • HLT Health Training Package
  • ICT Information and Communications Technology Training Package.

The revised training package is available on The mandatory Companion Volume Implementation Guide has also been updated to reflect these changes.

For further information please contact or 02 8243 1200

Continuous improvement

SIF Funeral Services Training Package was endorsed by the National Skills Standards Council on 17 June 2013.

Certificate IV in Embalming and the associated units of competency and assessment requirements were endorsed by the National Skills Standards Council, under a separate submission, on 9 October 2013.

SIF Funeral Services Training Package was developed to reflect the Standards for Training Packages and is available for download at

If you have any questions or comments, please email or call 02 8243 1200.

For help logging in to the feedback register or leaving feedback, please download the Feedback Register Troubleshooting document.

This project is funded by the Department of Education and Training.